Ayrseaforth > Club News > Cross Country > Ayrshire Cross Country Championships – Irvine Beach Park – Saturday 16 November 2013

Ayrshire Cross Country Championships – Irvine Beach Park – Saturday 16 November 2013

Saturday 16 November saw those athletes who entered this years Ayrshire Cross Country Championships greeted by a cold, windy but dry day with the wind having more of a bearing on the older age groups who had to run into the teeth of the wind when heading out to the farthest part of the course.

The first race of the day was the u11 age group where Seaforth had 7 girls and 5 boys running over the 1200m course. In the girls race Seaforth completed a clean sweep of the medals with Rosie Davidson 1st (3:49), Evie Mackay 2nd (3:53) and Scarlett Ross 3rd (3:54). They were followed by Alex Meldrum 5th (4:00), Nadine Sturgeon 7th (4:09), Morgan Brown 8th (4:11) and Molly Weatherston 12th (4:22). The first 3 girls also claimed the team gold medal. In the boys race Seaforth again were amongst the medals with Ruben Lindsay 2nd (3:48), Max McLean 3rd (3rd (3:49), Lewis Lennox 4th (3:52), Mason Alexander 6th (3:56) and Lewis Martin 7th (3:57). The first 3 boys home also claimed the team gold medal.

In the u13 age group which was over 3000m Seaforth were again heavily represented with no less than 8 girls and 6 boys. The girls was won by Emma Frew (11:20) who was followed by Lucy Davidson 2nd (12:24), Caitlin Chilton 3rd (12:34), Charlotte McDowall 5th (12:54), Jena Anderson 6th (13:00), Alexandra Smiley 8th (13:07), Emma Low 9th (13:09) and Melissa Miller 11th (13:30). The first 3 girls won the team gold. In the boys race Daniel Martin won in (11:03) with Greig Oakley 2nd (11:37), Steven Martin 3rd (11:56), Blair Smillie 5th (12:45) and Ben Smyth 7th (14:33). The first 3 boys were team gold medalists. Scott Sprang had to pull out while leading owing to injury which thankfully turned out not to be serious.

The u15 races had 3 girls racing over the 3000m course with 4 boys running the 4200m course. In the girls race India Birrell ran an excellent race to come home in 2nd place in a time of (12:33) followed by team mates Mia Cullis 4th (13:27) and Rebecca Martin 5th (13:37) to take the team silver medal. The u15 boys saw Fraser Stirling continue his fine form with a 1st place finish in (13:36), Lewis Ross 2nd (14:13), Callum Meldrum 5th (15:25) and Ewan McLevy 6th (15:34). The first 3 boys took the team gold.

The u17 races saw Kirstin Oakley record a convincing win over the 4200m course in a time of 14:35 followed home by team mate Lisa Rennie in 16:22. The boys race which was over a tough 6000m was won by James Pettigrew in 20:39 with Matthew Brawley 2nd in 21:57.

With the senior women and senior mens races starting together Seaforth were again very well represented with Gael Riddle the sole female entrant continuing her first season of cross country with a fine 4th place finish over the 6000m course in a time of 26:58 which also had her the first F35 runner in. The senior men had 12 runners for the 9000m course which reinforced the recent large turnouts for the section, the ever increasing number of athletes competing for the senior section has not gone unnoticed by other clubs and is becoming a regular topic of conversation. The first competitor in was Kenny Neil 5th (32:31) followed by Stephen McCrorie 10th (33:23), Alex Dunlop 13th (34:30), Steven Eaglesham 15th (34:46), James Murray 16th (34:58), Craig Brown 17th (34:59), Chris Boyce 21st (35:57), Stuart McLean 24th (37:00), Laurence Baker 26th (37:23), Paul Turnbull 29th (38:24), Ian Young 33rd (39:24) and Tom McCulloch 37th (41:15). The first 6 Seaforth runners also claimed the team silver medal.

Full results can be seen here

The next event on the cross country calendar is the McCain Cross Challenge in Liverpool next Saturday where Seaforth have a team entered.



Picture 2 of 54