Ayrseaforth > Club News > Cross Country > Ayrshire Cross Country Relays – Kilmarnock – Saturday 19 October 2013

Ayrshire Cross Country Relays – Kilmarnock – Saturday 19 October 2013

Saturday 12th October saw the Ayrshire Cross Country relays taking place for the first time over the Scott Ellis playing fields, Kilmarnock and the surrounding area. With the course being fairly flat some help was needed to make it more of a test for those athletes who entered and this came in the form of heavy rain which made the going vary from heavy to flooded.

Once again team manager Alan Sprang was delighted with the turnout from Seaforth as no less than 61 junior and 14 senior athletes took part.

The first race of the day was the u11 race with both boys and girls starting together. In the girls race the Seaforth ‘A’ team of Robyn McDonald, Rosie Davidson and Scarlett Ross came home in first place taking the gold medal with the ‘B’ team of Molly Weatherston, Katie Constantinou and Megan Brown in third place. The ‘C’ team only had a first leg runner in the person of Alex Meldrum who came in 3rd in the first leg. In the boys race Seaforth ‘A’ which included Max McLean, Ruben Lindsay and Lewis Martin came home in first place. The ‘B’ team again only had a first leg runner with Max Hay finishing the first leg in 3rd place.

Next was the u13 race which saw the girls race won by the Seaforth ‘A’ team of Lucy Davidson, Caitlin Chilton and Emma Frew with Seaforth ‘B’ team mates Melissa Miller, Charlotte McDowall and Emma Lowe taking silver. The Seaforth ‘C’ team which only had Alison King and Emma Palmer came home in 8th place after 2 legs. The boys race was won by the Seaforth ‘A’ team of Steven Martin, Scott Sprang and Daniel Martin with the Seaforth ‘B’ team of Blair Smillie, Aidan Copland and Greig Oakley coming 3rd  and Seaforth ‘C’ comprising of Michael Bargh, Ross Wylie and Alasdair Armstrong  coming 4th.

The girls u15 race saw 4 Seaforth teams taking part. The ‘A’ team of India Birrell, Rebecca Martin and Mia Cullis were 2nd with the ‘B’ team of Kate Alexander, Hannah Birrell and Megan short in 3rd place. The ‘D’ team which had Jennifer McVeigh, Holly Coughtrie and Megan Miller finished in 4th place with the ‘C’ team of Rebecca Watson, Katie McAlpine and Hannah Pettigrew in 5th. In the boys race Seaforth teams completed a complete clean sweep of the medals with the ‘A’ team of Lewis Ross, Jamie Brotherston and Fraser Stirling winning gold, the ‘B’ team of Cameron Ross, Rhys Sim and Ross Nicolson taking silver and the ‘D’ team of Fraser Angus, Ben Lomako and Fraser Paterson taking bronze. The ‘C’ team which had Euan McLevy, Callum Meldrum and Cameron Hay were 4th.

The girls u17 ‘A’ team of Lisa Rennie, Beth McRae and Kirstin Oakley took gold while the ‘B’ team of Rachael King, Christie Hutton and Amy Palmer took silver. In the boys race the Seaforth team of Euan McIntyre, Nial McHugh and Steven Mexson took bronze.

The senior men had a large number of competitors with no fewer than 14 entrants, several of whom were making their first sortie over a cross country course. The Seaforth ‘A’ team of Neil Burnside, Steven Reid, Stephen McCrorie and Kenny Neil finished in a creditable 4th place with the ‘B’ team of Crag McPike, Martin McCrorie, Craig Brown and Chris Boyce in 5th, the ‘C’ team of Stuart Mclean, Andy Crichton, Peter Laing and Laurence Baker in 8th and the incomplete ‘D’ team of Ian Baird and Tom McCulloch also running the first 2 legs.

Next up for Seaforth is the final team relay cross country which is the National Championships at Cumbernauld this Saturday then the cross country season really gets underway with the singles races going right through to the National Championships in Falkirk next February.


Image 2 of 94