Ayr Seaforth > Club News > Cross Country > West District XC Relay Championships – Irvine Beach Park – Saturday 13 October 2018

West District XC Relay Championships – Irvine Beach Park – Saturday 13 October 2018

This years West District Cross Country Relay Championships took place at an exceptionally wet Irvine Beach Park yesterday but despite the weather around 1200 athletes took part.
Seaforth had teams featuring in each race and first up was the Young Females. This race like the Young Males comprises of teams of 3 athletes each running over a 2500m course. The first runner is an U13 athlete with the second either an U13 or U15 and the third runner either U15 or U17.
In the young Females race which had 45 complete teams, Seaforth had 3 complete teams competing with the first leg runners being Iona Hubbard (Team A), Sophie MCcColm (Team B) and Sophie McCallum (Team C). It was Iona Hubbard who led the race home with a sizeable lead to hand over to the second leg runners who were Morven Hubbard (Team A), Anna Kirk (Team B) and Katie Murray (Team C). For the third and final leg it was Emma Frew (Team A), Evie Mackay (Team B) and Isla Hubbard (Team C) who set off with Team A coming home in 5th place, Team B in 16th place and Team C in 20th place.
The next race was the Young Males where Seaforth had 2 complete teams and an incomplete team in a race with 40 complete teams. First leg runners were Conor Scobie (Team A), Calum Moir (Team B) and Fraser McIntyre (Team C) who then handed over to Alex Crooks (Team A), Daniel Byers (Team B) and Euan Bell (Team C). With no third runner for team C it was left to Scott Sprang (Team A) and Max McLean (Team B) to take up the challenge with Team A coming home in 11th place and Team B in 26th place.
The Senior Women were next up in a race with 34 complete teams. This race was competed by teams of 3 athletes each taking on a 4000m course. With only one complete team and a solo runner it was Laura Wallace (Team A) and Ruth Kirk (Team B) who set off with Laura followed by Gael Neill and Toni McIntosh who brought the team home in 10th place.
The Senior Mens race comprised of teams of 4 athletes each taking on the same 4000m course as the Senior Women. Seaforth had 3 complete teams in a field of 85 complete Senior teams and it was first leg runners Grahame Hopper (Team A), Alasdair Meldrum (Team B) and Laurence Baker (Team C) who led off handing over to Stephen McCrorie (Team A), Simon Kirk (Team B) and Peter Laing(Team C). With persistent rain once again falling it was then the turn of Craig Brown (Team A), Iain Pettigrew (Team B) and Stuart McColm (Team C) who handed over to final leg runners Kenny Neill (Team A), Paul Turnbull (Team B) and Stuart McLean (Team C). In the final overall standings in the Senior category Team A were 28th, Team B 58th and Team C 72nd however in the Seniors only category Team A were 23rd while in the Masters category Team B were 12th and Team C 16th.
Next up is the Ayrshire Cross Country Relays next weekend followed by the National Cross Country Relays at Cumbernauld.

Leave a Reply