Ayrseaforth > Club Results > Road Racing Results

George Cummings Road Relay – Houston, Renfrewshire – Saturday 24 September 2016

For the first time in many years, Ayr Seaforth entered two teams into the George Cummings Road Relay held on a challenging 2.7 mile course in Houston, Renfrewshire. Despite hills, rain and wind, the teams finished in 10th  and 26th place in the mens events in what is a high quality field. Team A – 10th place Fraser Stirling (14.23) Craig McPike (14.35) Calum MacDonald (15.16) Kenny Neill (14.20) Team B – 26th place Stephen McCrorie (15.23) John Ross (16.13) Iain Pettigrew (18.02) Craig Brown (16.09)

Jimmy Young Marymass 10k Road Race – 17 August 2016

Jimmy Young Marymass 10k Road Race - 17 August 2016

Position Name Time
2nd Kenny Neill 34.58
6th Steven Reid 35.46
13th Calum MacDonald 37.07
19th Grahame Hopper 37.45
20th John Ross 37.52
29th Peter Laing 40.07
32nd Stephen McDowall 40.24
33rd (1st Female) Laura Wallace 40.26
34th Paul Turnbull 40.42
41st David Jones 41.41
71st John Strachan 45.43

Dundonald 10k Road Race (incl. Ayrshire 10k Championships) – 3 August 2016

Dundonald 10k Road Race (incl. Ayrshire 10k Championships) - 3 August 2016

Position Name Time
3rd (2nd Ayrshire) Kenny Neill 35.54
15th John Ross 38.48
17th Calum MacDonald 39.18
23rd Peter Laing 40.58
24th Stephen McDowall 41.17
26th (1st Female & 1st Ayrshire) Laura Wallace 42.07

Girvan Half Marathon – Sunday 10 July 2016

A small number of Ayr Seaforth athletes from the Road Race section took part in last weekends Girvan Half Marathon which also doubled up as the Ayrshire Half Marathon Championship. There were several notable results including the first male & female athletes home. Full results are shown in the table below:-

Girvan Half Marathon - Sunday 10 July 2016

Position Name Time
3rd Overall
1st Ayrshire Male
Steven Reid 1:18.25
12th Overall John Ross 1:24.31
23rd Overall
3rd Female Overall
1st Ayrshire Female
Laura Wallace 1:31.33
24th Overall Laurence Baker 1:32.13
37th Overall David Jones 1:39.29
68th Overall Janice McKellar 2:08.16
69th Overall
1st Female F40
Kirsty Green 2:08.48
2nd Mens Team Steven Reid
John Ross
Laurence Baker
David Jones
1st Womens Team Laura Wallace
Janice McKellar
Kirsty Green

CCL Land O’Burns 10k – Wednesday 25 May 2016

This years Land O’Burns 10k took place last night in near perfect conditions. The event was sponsored by Troon based CCL logistics company and was started by CEO Callum Bastock. The race was won by U20 athlete Fraser Stirling of Ayr Seaforth in a time of 34:20, he was followed home by Euan Webster (Sen M) of Aberdeen AC 35:05 and Kieran Cooper (U20) Unattached in 36:26. The first female home was Julie Beveridge (Sen F) Calderglen Harriers in 42:08 followed by Valerie Martin (V40) Dooleys Cycles in 44:15 and Beth Macrae (U20) Unattached in 44:35. Full results can be found HERE

Other Ayr Seaforth athletes competing were:-

Stephen McDowall(14th) 40:05

Alasdair Meldrum(19th) 41:05

Mia Cullis(82nd) 47:30

Christina Smiley(92nd) 47:51

Laurence Baker(Race Organiser) with Callum Bastock(CCL CEO)

Picture 1 of 231

Double Cateran Ultra 110 Mile – Saturday 14 May 2016

Congratulations go to Mark Caldwell who completed the Double Cateran Ultra 110 miler today in a time of 23hrs36m50s which gave him 3rd place. The race takes place over a 55 mile loop starting and finishing in Glen Shee and has a maximum time limit of 30 hours. Also running in the Cateran 55 mile Ultra was James Murray who completed the loop in 13hrs11m33s which placed James in 64th.

Well done to both of these ultra runners from everyone at Ayr Seaforth.

Mark Caldwell 2-1


HOKA Highland Fling 2016 – 53 Mile Trail Race – 30 April 2016

The Hoka Highland Fling is a 53 mile trail race which takes place every year in April.  The route follows the West Highland Way, Scotland’s oldest official long distance footpath, through the Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park. There is a 15hr time limit placed on participants and this years race saw 625 finishers. This year both the male and female records were broken with Donnie Campbell setting a new mens record of 6hrs51.06 and Beth Pascall setting a womens record of 7hrs52.55.

There were 3 Seaforth athletes taking part this year with Mark Caldwell claiming the Masters category Bronze medal in a time of 9hrs00.03 for 41st place overall, Andrew Crichton was 112nd in 10hrs01.07 and Davie Jones in his debut Ultra Marathon was 252nd in a time of 11hrs18.23.

A big well done to all from Ayr Seaforth.

Kaim Hill Fell Race 2016

On Wednesday 20th April Ayr Seaforth seniors Stuart McColm, Iain Pettigrew and James Pettigrew took part in the Kaim Hill fell race over a distance of 5.5Km. The race started in Fairlie and after a short section on the road the punishing 1250 ft ascent through mud and gorse began. James finished 29th out of 105 runners, Iain was 70th and fell debutante Stuart was 79th. The most important statistic for a fell runner is their percentage relative to the winner’s time and James competed the race in 37 minutes 41 seconds which was 31% greater than the winner. Iain’s time of 44 minutes 59 seconds was 57% greater and Stuart was 74% greater with a time of 50 minutes and 41 seconds.

Well done to all who took part.